Scholarship winners announced

Staff report

Local winners of the statewide 28th Annual Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award have been announced by the Ohio Educational Service Center Association.

The students are: Camden Warncke, Archbold; Leah Schwan, Evergreen; Gavin Leichty, Fayette; Rachelle Wyse, Four County Career Center; Gabe Beck, Pettisville; Mary Miller, Pike-Delta-York; Allison Mishka, Swanton; Elizabeth Yackee, Wauseon.

Each student will receive a $200 scholarship. Gabe Beck, who was selected the Fulton County winner, will receive a $500 scholarship.

District teachers recognized by the winning students as a positive influence include: Andrea Oyer, Archbold, Kristen Woodard, Evergreen; Scott Sanderson, Fayette; Brandon Brywcznski, Four County Career Center; Rebecca Dorosz, Pettisville; Jane Foor, Pike-Delta-York; Ron Kauffman, Swanton; Andrea Stevens, Wauseon.

Applicants must be high school seniors who demonstrate outstanding academic achievements indicated by high school test scores and achievement awards, and who have contributed positively to their school and community.

The winning students are invited to attend a recognition lunch in Columbus in April.

The scholarship awards program was established by the Ohio Superintendent’s Educational Service Center Association. Walter served as state superintendent of schools between 1977-91.

Staff report