Kaptur tops Majewski in Congressional race; Vance defeats Ryan

Staff Report



While Fulton County voters didn’t have any county races to decide, there were Congressional and statewide races for them to vote on.

In the Ninth Congressional District, Fulton County gave the nod to Republican J.R. Majewski, but Democrat Marcy Kaptur came out the winner, according to unofficial results. Majewski garnered 59% of the vote in Fulton County, but Kaptur won in Lucas, Erie, and Wood counties to earn 57% of the overall vote.

Kaptur, of Toledo, is among the longest serving women ever in Congress.

“Northwest Ohio is home to the hardworking folks who make, build, and grow America — and I am honored to continue serving them in Congress,” said Kaptur. “There has been too much division in our nation of late, and our focus must be on mending the fabric of our politics and our society. We are the United States of America — not the divided states of America. We are the red, white, and blue — not the red or blue. I pledge to be a voice and representative for all the people — Republicans, Democrats, and none of the above.

Her district now covers Fulton, Williams, Defiance, Lucas, Ottawa, Sandusky, and Erie counties, along with a portion of Wood County.

In statewide races, Fulton County, as expected, went heavily towards Republican candidates. Lucas County went with Democrats in all but the governor race.

Republican J.D. Vance earned 10,720 votes in Fulton County to just 5,235 for Democrat Tim Ryan. Ryan earned 59% of the vote in Lucas County. Overall in Ohio, Vance earned 53.3% of the vote, compared to 46.7% for Ryan.

“We’ve been given an opportunity to do something, and that’s to govern. And to govern to make the lives of the people of Ohio better. That’s exactly what I aim to do,” Vance said Tuesday night.

Vance will replace outgoing Republican Senator Rob Portman, who did not seek re-election.

All Republican candidates for state offices received at least 72% of the vote in Fulton County. Mike DeWine earned a second term as governor, earning 79% of the vote in Fulton County.

DeWine won in Lucas County with 55% of the vote.

The Republican, and his running mate Jon Husted, received 63% of the state’s overall vote to defeat Democratic challenger Nan Whaley.

Attorney General Dave Yost, Auditor Keith Faber, Secretary of State Frank LaRose, and Treasurer Robert Sprague were also re-elected.

Pat Fischer and Pat DeWine won Ohio Supreme Court races, and Sharon Kennedy won the race for chief justice.

Running unopposed in Fulton County were Jeffrey Rupp for county commissioner, Brett Kolb for county auditor and Scott Haselman for common pleas court judge.

In Lucas County, Democrat Lisa Sobecki won the county commissioner race over John Jennewine, 57% – 43%. Democrat Michael Ashford garnered 56% of the vote in the county recorder race to top John Rozic.

In Ohio House District 42, which included Lucas County portions of the Swanton area, Republican Derek Merrin will remain in the general assembly after defeated Erika White (D) 54% – 46 %. In District 41, Republican Josh Williams topped Democrat Nancy Larson, 52% – 48%.

Senate District 11 saw Democrat Paula Hicks-Hudson defeat Republican Tony Dia by a margin of 55% – 45%.


Staff Report