Evergreen Board approves income tax renewal request

By Drew Stambaugh - [email protected]

The Evergreen Board of Education on Monday approved a levy renewal request and a new football coach.

A five-year, 0.25% income tax levy renewal will go before voters of the Evergreen School District May 3. That portion of the district’s income tax expires this year. A 0.75% portion expires in 2024.

Following an executive session late in the meeting, the Board offered a supplemental contract to Evan Karchner to serve as head football coach next school year.

Karchner is a 2012 graduate of Maumee High School, who was a linebacker at Bowling Green State University. He earned a bachelor’s degree in integrated mathematics and a master’s in educational curriculum.

Karchner recently served as an assistant coach at Eastwood High School.

The Board also approved an overnight trip for the Evergreen wrestling team to participate in the Division III State Duals at Sandusky St. Mary’s High School. The team departs on Jan. 28 and returns on Jan. 29. Coaches Dalton Nicely, Jesse Beverly, and Andrew Bailey will serve as trip supervisors.

An overnight trip was also approved for high school music students and advisors Chris Lyons, Rob Stierman, Luke Rosen, and other to-be-named adult chaperones, for bus travel to Disney World in Orlando, Florida. The trip is planned for March 12 through March 16.

The cost will be funded through a combination of student fees, student fundraising, and money contributed from the Evergreen Music Boosters.

Evergreen Superintendent Eric Smola gave a strategic planning update to the Board. He told them student and staff surveys have been completed and parent surveys went out Monday. There is a two week window for parents to complete them.

“Once done we will begin focus groups to analyze the survey results and begin revising the strategic plan,” he said. “Our goal is to present the revised plan to the Board for approval prior to the next school year.”

The current three-year plan runs through the end of this school year.

At the organizational meetings that preceeded the regular meeting, Board leadership was selected. Nora Kiefer was elected president and Jason Miller vice president.

The Board also set the third Monday of each month at 6 p.m. as the date and time for regular meetings in 2022. The only exception is February, when the meeting will be Tuesday, Feb. 22.


By Drew Stambaugh

[email protected]