Walter scholarships awarded

Staff report

Local high school seniors who have won the 27th Annual Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award have been announced:

Anna Schoenhals, Archbold; Eden Eisel, Evergreen; Mackalyn Figgins, Fayette; Randy Belmares, Four County Career Center; Elizabeth Miller, Pettisville; Michael Thomas, Pike-Delta-York; Claire Leidigh, Swanton; Kasey Darnell, Wauseon.

Typically, one student from each Ohio county receives the Walter award from the Ohio Educational Service Center Association. However, the process has been expanded by the Northwest Ohio Educational Service Center (NwOESC) to include one student in each Fulton County school district. Each district winner receives a $200 scholarship award.

The exception is Elizabeth Miller, who was selected by OESCA as the county winner. She will receive a $500 scholarship at a special recognition luncheon for the county winners in Columbus in April.

To promote teaching excellence along with student achievement, one teacher is recognized in each Fulton County school district. The applying student is asked to write a tribute to the teacher, who has been the most positive influence on the student’s success in school.

The teachers are: Sue Hurst, Archbold; Cathi Sohnly, Evergreen; John Keys, Fayette; Tim Armitage, Four County Career Center; Rich Reid, Pettisville; Kathyrn Currier-Ford, Pike-Delta-York; Jason Longbrake, Swanton, Jason Robinson, Wauseon.

Established by the OSESCA, the Walter award program promotes student achievement and recognizes outstanding students. To qualify, they must demonstrate outstanding academic achievements as indicated by high school test scores and achievement awards. They must also be a positive contributor to their high school and community.

The scholarship is named for Franklin B. Walter, Ohio Superintendent of Education from 1977 to 1991.

The NwOESC also honors a special education provider from each county for the work done on behalf of students with disabilities across northwest Ohio. Providers are nominated by area districts through a written process each January.

The Fulton County winner is Katie Pierce of Evergreen. She was nominated by Evergreen High School principal Josh Clark, and will be honored at the Franklin B. Walter Honored Student and Teacher celebration.

Winners, their guests, and the nominator were recently honored during the Franklin B. Walter Honored Student and Teacher Celebration held at the NwOESC offices on March 7.

Staff report