Park levy intended to replace two

By Drew Stambaugh -

Swanton voters will be deciding this month on a new park levy that would replace the two current levies. One 0.5-mill levy is expiring, and the other 0.5-mill levy would be rescinded if the new levy is approved.

“The proposed new levy at 1.2-mills is intended to be a replacement for the two 0.5-mill existing levies which currently total 1-mill. The revenue generated from the levy will be used for park operation and maintenance.,” Village Administrator Rosanna Hoelzle said.

If approved on March 17, council would then rescind the park levy that passed in May 2019. The other park levy is set to expire.

The new five-year, 1.2-mill levy would generate $80,629 per year.

Also, both Lucas County commissioner races will have a contested primary as Republicans face off to see who will run against the Democratic incumbents.

Ron Murphy and Sandy Bashaw, both of Toledo, will run in one Republican primary for commissioner. The winner will face Democrat Pete Gerken of Toledo in November.

James Corey Robertson of Whitehouse and Tom Names of Toledo will run in the other Republican primary for commissioner. The winner will face Tina Skeldon Wozniak of Toledo in November.

Four Democrats have been approved for the ballot in the race to become the next Lucas County sheriff. John Tharp is not seeking re-election.

The Democrats on the ballot in March will be Ronald L. Collins of Oregon, Gary Johnson of Toledo, Maurice D. Morris of Toledo, and Mike Navarre of Toledo. Brett Warner was the lone Republican to file.

In the Lucas County recorder race, three Republicans will run: Dan Cobb of Toledo, Pam Haynam of Sylvania, and Nickolas P. Berente of Grand Rapids.

Incumbent Phil Copeland is running unopposed in the Democratic primary.

One Fulton County commissioner race is contested. Dale R. Morgan is challenging Jon Rupp in the Republican primary.

By Drew Stambaugh