Lucas County offers contested primaries

By Drew Stambaugh -

Lucas County voters will have several races to decide during the March 17 primary election.

Both commissioner races will have a contested primary as Republicans face off to see who will run against the Democratic incumbents.

Ron Murphy and Sandy Bashaw, both of Toledo, will run in one Republican primary for commissioner. The winner will face Democrat Pete Gerken of Toledo in November.

James Corey Robertson of Whitehouse and Tom Names of Toledo will run in the other Republican primary for commissioner. The winner will face Tina Skeldon Wozniak of Toledo in November.

Four Democrats have been approved for the ballot in the race to become the next Lucas County sheriff. John Tharp is not seeking re-election.

The Democrats on the ballot in March will be Ronald L. Collins of Oregon, Gary Johnson of Toledo, Maurice D. Morris of Toledo, and Mike Navarre of Toledo. Brett Warner was the lone Republican to file.

In the Lucas County recorder race, three Republicans will run: Dan Cobb of Toledo, Pam Haynam of Sylvania, and Nickolas P. Berente of Grand Rapids.

Incumbent Phil Copeland is running unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Primary contests for Lucas County coroner, clerk of the court of common pleas, prosecuting attorney, coroner, treasurer, and engineer are unopposed on both sides. The clerk of the court of common pleas and treasurer races have both a Democrat and Republican running, while just a Democrat is running in the primary for engineer, prosecuting attorney, and coroner positions.

By Drew Stambaugh