Evergreen Board approves supplmental contracts

Several items were approved by the Evergreen Board of Education at its December meeting on Monday.

The board approved allowing student athletes to participate in the 2015-16 indoor track and field season using the Evergreen High School name. indoor track & field season using the Evergreen High School name. Athletes will be under the supervision of Board approved coaches or volunteers that have valid pupil activity certificates, and all participation will cease before the beginning of the outdoor track and field season.

The Evergreen Local School District will assume no cost or liability for indoor track participants and coaches/volunteers.

The the previous board meeting, girls soccer was approved as a varsity sport beginning next next year.

On Monday, the board authorized the treasurer to pay the $4,611 membership cost for the Ohio School Board Association (OSBA). The board will also participate in the OSBA Legal Assistance Fund in 2016, at a cost of $250. The fund supports efforts of the OSBA in obtaining favorable judicial decisions and gives the board a one year subscription to the quarterly School Law Summary.

With the year coming to a close, the board elected Denise Leu as the president pro tempore to preside at the beginning of the January organizational meeting until a new president is elected. The meeting will be Jan. 11 at 6:45 p.m. in the Loren Pennington Learning Center.

Supplemental contracts approved at the meeting, included Brian Nagy, varsity baseball; Adam Wagner, junior varsity baseball; Williams Cymbolin, freshman baseball; Todd Momany, varsity softball; Andrew Langenderfer, junior varsity softball; Douglas DeSloover, freshman softball; Jared Walker, head boys varsity track; Aaron Schmidt, boys assistant varsity track; Terry McIntosh, head girls varsity track; and Shannon Mack, girls assistant varsity track.

Also at the meeting, the board discussed a tentative school calendar for 2016-17. It includes a first day of school on Aug. 17 and a final day of May 24. The calendar is not finalized.

The board recognized and thanked Greg Creque for 10 years of service and Heather Rade for eight years of service.

Also at the meeting, high school principal Josh Clark presented a letter of commendation from the National Merit Scholarship Program for Josh Laux.