Toeppe challenging Roth for Swanton Mayor

Staff Report

With the deadline to file for the November general election now past, area races have come into clearer view. There are some seats that will be contested but also some with more open seats than candidates.

The Swanton mayoral race should prove interesting as incumbent Ann Roth faces a challenge. Also seeking the seat is Neil Toeppe, the Swanton Area Chamber of Commerce President.

Incumbent Dianne Westhoven is the only candidate running for two spots on Swanton Village Council. The other incumbent, Jeff Pilliod, did not file.

In Delta, four candidates will try for three spots on village council. Chad Johnson will look to unseat one of three incumbents – Tony Dawson, Lynn Frank, and Art Thomas. Dan Miller did not file for reelection as Delta Mayor. Bob Gilbert is the lone candidate.

In Metamora, three are running for two seats on council. Lynda Arquette is challenging incumbents John Hudik and Karon Lane.

For Swanton Board of Education, incumbent David Smith is one of two candidates running for two seats. Newcomer Ben Remer, whose father previously served on the board, is also running. Shannon Crow is the other board member whose term will expire at the end of the year and she did not file to run.

Phil Wiland will be challenged by Gene Wilson for Swancreek Township Trustee.

Lucas County candidate information will be published when available.

The Board of Elections must still verify the candidates met all the requirements to appear on the ballot.

Other area filings:

City, village races



Richard Sauerlender (inc.)

Township offices

(elect one)



Thomas Herr Jr. (inc.)

Fiscal officer

Suzanne Holland (inc.)



Scott Gillen (inc.)

Fiscal officer

Julie Szabo (inc.)


Fiscal officer

Jo Stultz (inc.)

Boards of education

Educational Service Center, District 1

(elect one)

Nona Rupp (inc.)

Evergreen Local

(elect two)

Nora Kiefer (inc.)

Zachary Murry


(elect three)

Alice Simon (inc.)

Tammy Sprow (inc.)

Staff Report