Local ‘Trooper of the Year’ named

The Swanton post of the Ohio State Highway Patrol has named a Toledo resident its 2015 Trooper of the Year.

Michael T. Ziehr, 30, was selected by fellow officers in recognition of outstanding service, according to Lt. Vern Fisher II. They chose Ziehr for his leadership abilities, professional ethics, courteous treatment of others, work attitude, and cooperation with supervisors, peers, and the public.

He is in contention for the district award and State Trooper of the Year Award.

Ziehr joined the OSHP in 2011, and has served the Swanton post for three years. He was previously awarded the post Trooper of the Year Award in 2014 and the State Highway Patrol Health and Physical Fitness Award.